Sports Awards 2017

On Tuesday 9th May Cardiff Met celebrated another year of sporting success at The Mercure Holland House. The Awards evening was presented by the commanding Neil Hennessey and guest presenters included Vice Chancellor Cara Aitchison. The Rt Hon, the Lord Mayor of Cardiff, Cllr Monica Walsh and Chief Executive of Sport Wales Sarah Powell.

Cardiff Met Sports Awards highlights and celebrates the achievements of Cardiff Met students. Awards recognize top sporting achievement, improved performance, club organization and community work. The event encompasses all aspects of university sporting life and the evening was a fantastic display of the talented and dedicated students of Cardiff Met.

Thank you to Wilmott Dixon for supporting the awards evening and thank you to Rhino Teamwear and Pinnacle Lettings for their continued support of Cardiff Met SU Sport throughout the year.

Congratulations to all who were shortlisted for awards, and off course the winners! Below is a summary of the awards presented on the evening.


The Frank Cartmell Trophy – Best Student Administrator/Organiser

Robert Mant - Men’s Futsal


The Darren Griffiths Trophy – The most successful student not in the school of sport

James Wilcox - Korfball


The Most Improved Team – An award recognising meritorious performance

Men’s Basketball 1st


The Most Improved Individual – An award recognising Meritorious Performance

Amy Odunaiya - Athletics


Services to Cardiff Met Sport - For Outstanding Contributions to student sport

Sarah Wagstaff - Basketball


The Athletic Union Award of Merit

Morgan Jones -  Athletics (pictured below accepted on his behalf)


Sport Cardiff Community Sport Award

Lusi Lawler


Pinnacle Campus Sport Coordinator of the Year

Dominic Smith

The President’s Cup

Alex Dombrandt - Men’s Rugby


Fresher of the Year – A first year student who has shown outstanding ability

Scott Oates - Men’s Badminton


The RHINO Teamwear Most Valuable Player - The most influential team member

Judit Fritz - Women’s Basketball


The Principal’s Award presented at the discretion of the Vice Chancellor

Women’s Football


The Sportec Trophy – Coach of the Year

Christian Edwards - Men’s Football

The Stuart Griffiths “Club of the Year”

Men’s Football


Willmott Dixon Sports Personality of the Year

Jasmine Joyce - Women’s Rugby